Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

LG elections: Over 1600 polling station ‘most sensitive’

LG elections: Over 1600 polling station 'most sensitive'

46 polling stations in Battagram ‘most sensitive’

PESHAWAR: The Election Commission on Pakistan (ECP) on Thursday informed that 1609 polling stations have been declared “most sensitive”, 2319 “sensitive” and 2069 normal ahead of the Local Government (LG) elections in the remaining 65 tehsils of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa’s 18 districts on 31 March.

During a high-level meeting of the police and the ECP officials, the ECP informed that 8.57 million voters will exercise their right to vote for which 6,176 polling stations have been established. The ECP urged the police chief to deploy security personnel on the polling stations according to the nature of the polling stations.

Read more:

ANP election candidate shot dead in North Waziristan

A day before polls, ANP candidate shot killed in DI Khan

ECP summons Prime minister over breach of polls’ code   

The police chief informed the meeting that the department has cancelled police personnel vacations across the province, and station house officers and other officials have been directed to keep visiting their concern areas and keep an effective check on security situation. The police chief said that all on duty policemen will have to wear helmets and bullet proof jackets. There will be complete ban on display of weapons and vehicles with tinted glasses

The election body also informed that a total of 1,318 candidates have been elected unopposed in 65 tehsils. The ECP data shows that a total of 39554 candidates are vying for 12875 seats. A total of 651 candidates will contest for city mayor and tehsil chairman seats, 12,980 for general and neighborhood councils, 2,668 for women seats, 6,451 for labour, 5,213 candidates for Kisan and youth seats and 57 have submitted nomination papers for religious minorities’ seats.

See also  Hamza’s election as CM: PTI challenges LHC order in Supreme Court

Similarly, so far 351 candidates have been elected unopposed on general seats, 533 on women seats, 151 on labour and farmer seats, 233 on youth seats and 50 on minority seats in Village and Neighborhood Councils.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular

To Top