PDM announces boycott of joint parliamentary session due next week

Statesman Report

ISLAMABAD: The Opposition’s Pakistan Democratic Movement on Friday announced a boycott of the joint parliamentary session due next week.

The announcement followed a meeting of the PDM’s steering committee, attended by PML-N’s Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Ahsan Iqbal, Marriyum Aurangzeb, JUI-F’s Maulana Fazlur Rehman, Owais Noorani, Akram Khan Durrani, Hafiz Hamdullah, Qaumi Watan Party chief Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao and Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party chief Mahmood Khan Achakzai.

Hafiz Hamdullah spoke to the media following the meeting to announce the decision.

“PDM stands with media organisations and will continue to stand by them,” he said.

He said that what had occurred earlier in the day during a meeting of the Senate Standing Committee on Parliamentary Affairs was “non-parliamentary” and “non democratic”.

“Babar Awan and Azam Swati have insulted the Election Commission and the Parliament,” Hamdullah said.

Swati levelled serious allegations against the commission of taking bribes.

Advisor to the Prime Minister on Parliamentary Affairs Dr Babar Awan, meanwhile, vowed the government would get bills pertaining to Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and the rights of overseas Pakistanis to vote approved from the joint session of parliament.

President Arif Alvi is expected to address a joint sitting of parliament on Monday, September 13, marking the start of the fourth parliamentary year.