Ramiz selects Imran Khan as captain for an Indo-Pak team of all time
LAHORE: Former skipper Ramiz Raja has selected Imran Khan, who led Pakistan to victory in the 1992 World Cup, as the captain for his all-time playing XI comprising Indian and Pakistani players.
Raja, speaking to former Indian skipper Sunil Gavaskar on Facebook live said his squad would consist of Pakistani bowlers and Indian batsmen and that according to him was a fantastic India-Pakistan XI.
"I briefly discussed this with my son. It's a massive situation to be in, how to assemble a star cast of some giants of the game. But he said no it's very simple, you have Pakistan bowlers and Indian batsmen in the line-up and you get a fantastic India-Pakistan XI, " Raja said.
The TV pundit, announcing his bowling side choose former speedster Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis and Saqlain Mushtaq, while he only opted for Anil Kumble from the Indian side.
Raja's battling line-up consisted of Virender Sehwag, Sunil Gavaskar, as openers, while incumbent Indian captain Virat Kohli was chosen to bat at number 3.
Raja picked cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar to bat at number four, Rahul Dravid at number five and MS Dhoni, the wicket-keeper, at six.
Raja’s India-Pakistan ODI XI: Virender Sehwag, Sunil Gavaskar, Virat Kohli, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, MS Dhoni, Imran Khan, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Anil Kumble, Saqlain Mushtaq. - Agencies