Punjab govt reopens 61 areas in Lahore, extends lockdown in seven localities
Statesman Report
LAHORE: Amid ongoing coronavirus outbreak, the Punjab government has reopened 61 areas in Lahore while lockdown has been extended for three days in seven localities.
The areas that have been reopened include blocks in Johar Town, Canal View Society, Wapda Town, PCSIR, DHA (phase I,III,V), Askari X, Old Anarkali, Kareem Park, Shadbagh (Gol Bagh), Mohalla Shah Noor, Darogawala and others.
Smart lockdown
extended till July 15
On the other hand, Punjab government has also issued an extension notification regarding smart lockdown in the province due to the coronavirus.
According to Secretary Primary and Secondary Health Care Captain (Retd) Muhammad Usman, educational institutions, wedding halls, restaurants, parks and cinema halls will remain closed.
Social and religious gatherings, sports activities will not be allowed during lockdown.
All business locations will remain open from Monday till Friday from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Medical stores, puncture shops, flour mill, tandoor ovens, agricultural workshops will be allowed to remain open 24 hours a day.
Call centers will be allowed to open with 50% staff while inter-district transport will be allowed to operate 24 hours a day. Grocery stores will be allowed to open all week, from 9am to 7pm. All churches will open for worship only on Sundays from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.